Drunk driving is one of the most common traffic violations you can find in the state of New Jersey.
The New Jersey state is very strict in imposing penalties for drunk drivers, so you will need to hire a reputable New Jersey DUI attorney if you get involved in any drunk driving violation.
The drunk driving case can be difficult for you to handle, so you will need the help of an experienced DUI lawyer in New Jersey if you want to minimize the penalties you get.
Here are 5 important points you need to know about drunk driving in New Jersey:
1. Drunk Driving is a Serious Traffic Violation in New Jersey
In the state of New Jersey, it is not a crime or felony to drive under the influence of alcohol. However, drunk driving is a serious traffic violation that can get you into jail and give you various other consequences.
The more damage you do to your drunk driving behaviors, the worse the consequences you will get. In New Jersey, a drunk driver can get a fine, prison time, license suspension, and vehicle registration revocation.
Drunk driving can also give you more serious problems when you hurt someone or get someone killed because of your reckless driving.
Also Read: What Should You Expect from Drug Defense Lawyers?
2. The First Offense of Drunk Driving in New Jersey
There are three offenses you can commit regarding drunk driving in the state of New Jersey. The first drunk driving offense will require you to pay up to a $500 fine, face imprisonment for up to 30 days, get the revocation of your driver’s license for up to a year, get mandatory attendance for two days in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and pay a $1,000 automobile insurance surcharge.
The penalties you will receive will depend on your drunk driving behaviors and the amount of alcohol intoxication you have.
3. Second Offense of Drunk Driving in New Jersey
When you are driving drunk for the second time, the second offense will bring you even worse penalties.
The penalties you might get for the second offense of drunk driving include paying a fine of up to $1,000, up to 90 days of imprisonment, license suspension for up to 2 years, and even more, comprehensive requirements from the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), mandatory 30-day community service, ignition lock installation for up to 4 years, and automobile insurance surcharge for your vehicle.
It’s important for you not to drive while intoxicated for the second time, as the penalties will give you plenty of problems later on.
4. Third Offense of Drunk Driving in New Jersey
In New Jersey, the third offense of drunk driving will bring you the worst penalties, and it will give you even more trouble in the future.
The third drunk driving offense in New Jersey will give you various penalties, such as a fine of up to $1,000, 180-day imprisonment, 8-year suspension for your driver’s license, attendance for the 30-day community service, $1,500 automobile insurance surcharge, the interlock ignition installation for up to 4 years of the license suspension period, and the requirements to complete the IDRC evaluation.
It’s important for you to understand the implications of the third drunk driving offense, and it’s best for you to always drive sober at all times.
Also Read: Questions You Need to Ask Before Hiring an Injury Lawyer
5. Hiring the DUI Attorney in New Jersey
When you get into any trouble with drunk driving, it will be very important for you to hire a DUI attorney that will help you with your case. Without proper guidance and legal support from the DUI attorney in New Jersey, you might get the maximum penalties for your drunk driving behaviors.
Hiring a DUI attorney will help you with the legal process you need to go through, and you will also have a better chance of getting lower penalties for your drunk driving behaviors.
The DUI attorney in New Jersey can also help you in understanding the drunk driving laws in the state of New Jersey and how you can cope with the drunk driving case you get involved with.
Understanding the penalties for drunk driving in New Jersey will help discourage you from driving while intoxicated. It’s important for you not to drive drunk around the state of New Jersey, as the consequences will be bad if you do so.
Always drive sober all the time wherever you are, for your own safety and the safety of others. Contact the DUI attorney in New Jersey if you get involved in any drunk driving case in this state.